We Wanna Be Free To Do What We Wanna Do

30 09 2013

Since the band has been off the road for two weeks, and my wife it out of town for work, I’ve had the opportunity to catch up on some “Classic Albums” on Netflix, good music nerd shit that the missus always votes down when we actually time to watch anything.  Disraeli Gears, Aja, Graceland, Paranoid, 2112, The Band, all the classic rock faves are there, but I stumbled on the Primal Scream “Screamadelica” episode last night, and took a blissful trip back to 1990 and realized how much of an influence it had on me. – BT

While Screamadelica came out in 1991, WHFS has been spinning “Loaded” and “Come Together” the year before and I was instantly hooked.  Considering that I was speeding along on a steady diet of Fugazi and Jane’s Addiction in high school, it’s still a little mystifying why a bunch of sampler-wielding E’d out Glaswegians would grab me…

I bought the Come Together EP at my local Kemp Mill Records and devoured it.  2 mixes of “Come Together”, 3 mixes of “Loaded”, a live cover of the MC5’s Ramblin’ Rose (which I still think is better than the original version sung by Wayne Kramer in an inexplicable falsetto.  Side note: it’s a toss up to whether this cover or the Rollins/Bad Brains version of “Kick out the Jams” from the Pump Up the Volume soundtrack was my first whiff of the MC5), and a tune called “I’m Losing More Than I’ll Ever Have” that was similar to “Loaded” but not close enough to be a remix, and was much closer to the cod-gospel of early 70’s Stones than the club beats of the rest of the disc.  But it was fucking cool, and it had a hell of a dub/soul bass line

Now many years later, after Screamadelica won the first Mercury Prize, I got deep into both dub AND soul, and got a grasp of remix/sampling culture (seriously, the Beastie Boys announcing that this is the first song on their new album THAT YOU JUST BOUGHT AND ARE LISTENING TO is a bit of a mind fuck if you never gave a shit about Cheap Trick), and the interweb has answers to all of life’s mysteries…

Primal Scream gave “Losing More Than I’ll Ever Have” to DJ Andrew Weatherall to remix.   He stripped out most of the guitars and dropped in the beat from an Italian bootleg remix of Edie Brickell’s “What I Am”:

and dressed it up with some vocals from the Emotions “I Don’t Want to Lose Your Love” and a bit of PS frontman Bobby Gillespie singing Robert Johnson’s “Terraplane Blues”.

While that huge lumbering bassline (courtesy of Henry Olsen) is the heartbeat of “Loaded”, the icing on the cake is the opening sample of Peter Fonda from The Wild Angels:

Just what is it that you want to do?

We wanna be free
We wanna be free to do what we wanna do
And we wanna get loaded
And we wanna have a good time
That’s what we’re gonna do
(No way baby let’s go)
We’re gonna have a good time
We’re gonna have a party

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

